BLUE LIGHT race report

by Douglas Barry

It was a bad night for badgers after the Blue Light race on Wednesday 9th June 1999. I was zipping back in the gloom after the prizegiving held in the eponymous pub. Too late, I spotted a white face with two large eyes staring. It tried to scrabble to a desperate stop in the middle of the side road. It's reactions matched mine: they were too slow. A thump, and a wheel lifting bump signalled the probable end for Brock.

I stopped, turned around and drove slowly back to find the unmarked body lying at the side of the unlit road. The badger still looked in the prime of life. Its black and white coat was pristine, but sadly inert. There was no soft movement in its fur. Its eyes glazed over: the kiss of life was not going to be needed tonight. South Dublin is a rough place for wild life.

That other piece of South Dublin wild life Noel Berkeley was full of vigour earlier on the night. The Irish 10,000 metres track champion was fired up after his two recent bad weather defeats recently. "I'm gonna go for this record. It's dry. No messing around tonight" he said before the off. The DSD man was as good as his word. He blasted off with Sugarloaf winner Aenghus O'Cleirigh in hot pursuit, but, before they had covered a third of the distance, Noel had pulled out a winning lead on his clubmate and the improving Hugh McLindon.

Noel eased away to leave Aenghus and Hugh trailing on the climb to the summit turn at the Fairy Castle. "I didn't ease off at all and was pleased with my descent" he said later. No wonder, Noel lopped nearly a minute and a half off a tough record set by an on-form Gerry Brady over 5 years ago. The resiliant Aenghus got the better of Hugh and both were quite close to Brady's old record in the favourable conditions. In the women's race, the form runner Una May had a strong climb to fend off the attentions of the much improved Joan Flanagan. Una and Joan both flew down to smash Joyce Mitchell's record of 30 mins 2 sec.

Blue Light - 9/06/99

Leinster League 6 of 13 Dry

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time
1	169	Noel Berkeley	DSD		21.43
2	239	Aenghus O'Cléirigh	DSD		23.25
3	142	Hugh McLindon	3ROC		23.34
4	315	Colm O'Halloran			24.07
5	274	Brendan O'Brien	Ajax		24.24
6	139	Bob Lawlor	Crusaders		25.06
7	198	Eoin Keith			25.09
8	101	Simon Walters	AIB		25.33
9	218	Finbarr Desmond			26.00

10	278	Paul Mahon			26.05
11	317	Dave Fenton	Donore Harriers	MJ	26.49
12	105	Declan Doyle		1010	26.51
13	148	Henny Brandsma	Sportsworld	MV	27.07
14	292	Peter O'Farrell	Sportsworra	1,1,1	27.18
15	228	Fergus Brien			27.21
16	276	Cormac MacDonnchadha	Ajax/ESB		27.45
17	190	Douglas Corrie	Fingal	MV	27.53
18	146	Brian Jones	DUO		27.59
19	132	Peter Owens	DALRIADA		28.18
20	316	Alan Lawlor			28.33
21	215	Richard Church			28.40
22	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		28.44
23	115	Calvin Torrans		MSV	28.48
24	121	David Simpson	Rathfarnham	MJ	28.51
25	231	Úna May	Crusaders	F	28.53
26	216	Aidan Fitzpatrick			29.03
27	120	Brian Bell	Bray Head Ridge Runners	MV	29.15
28	122	Joe Lalor	GEN	MV	29.38
29	161	Vivian O'Gorman		MV	29.44
30	116	Joan Flanagan	Ajax	F	29.47
31	250	Martin Flynn	Ajax		29.52
32	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		29.56
33	136	Colin Burns	Ajax		29.57
34	186	Ercus Stewart	Glenasmole	MSV	30.01
35	220	Pat Fitzpatrick	AIB		30.03
36	233	Nigel Creighton			30.14
37	219	Gavan Doherty	GEN		30.23
38	289	Mark Gomm	Portmarnock		30.32
39	133	Roisin McDonnell	Crusaders	F	30.42
40	299	Donough O'Keeffe	BVOC		30.50
41	279	Kevin Murray		MV	31.36
42	262	Paul Keogh			31.41
43	263	Peter McNamara	DUO		31.48
44	243	Eddie McGovern	Canada Life		31.50
45	313	Mary O'Connell		F	31.55

46	323	Mick Mangan	Setanta		32.01
47	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		32.10
48	126	Alan Dolan	Crusaders	MJ	32.13
49	194	Dermot O'Callaghan	AIB		32.15
50	103	Gordon Douglas		MV	32.18
51	283	Fiona O'Sullivan	Crusaders	F	32.21
52	294	Leigh Cullen	Crusaders		32.30
53	166	Jane Watt	Crusaders	FV	32.45
54	256	Brendan Lawlor	Office City		33.09
55	238	Alan Guinane	AIB		33.12
56	154	Graham Porter	Crusaders	MV	33.16
57	229	John Fitzgerald		MV	33.20
58	163	Tom Quinn		MV	33.24
59	179	Padraic Hamrock	AIB		33.44
60	145	Brendan O'Connor	Ajax		33.50
61	147	Eithne Mc Shane		F	33.55
62	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	34.10
63	140	Conor Kenny	sportsworld	MV	34.23
64	141	Peter Gargan	Ajax	MV	34.28
65	314	Alan Ayling			34.47
66	107	Suzanne Kennedy		F	35.05
67	311	Eddie O'Flynn	Eircell		35.10
68	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		35.18
69	173	Brendan Doherty	GEN	MSV	35.35
70	165	Cormac Corrigan	Glenasmole HR		35.38
71	297	Frank Murphy	Glenasmole	MV	36.07
72	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	FV	36.13
73	293	Murtagh Murphy			36.19
74	114	Paddy Lord		MSV	36.32
75	156	Nina Philips	Crusaders	F	36.35
76	242	Sean R Murphy	Setanta		36.38
77	230	David Quinn	Gen	MV	36.49
78	321	Melissa O'Halloran		F	37.34
79	138	Aine Donovan	Crusaders	F	37.42
80	196	Sean Lambe		MSV	37.46
81	172	Alexis Fitzgerald			38.05
82	253	Justin Rea			38.17
83	295	Stephen McMullan	Dal Riada		38.56

84	180	Anne Davitt	Bank of Ire.	F	39.05
85	143	James Higgins	AIB		39.27
86	193	Julie Hilliard		FV	40.12
87	318	Peter Gorman	AIB		40.17
88	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		40.27
89	108	Fiona Callaghan	AIB	F	40.31
90	281	Melanie Walsh		F	41.17
91	177	Ger Power	3ROC	FV	41.55
92	322	Dan Meaney		MV	41.59
93	312	Felicia Long	AIB	F	45.21
94	319	Helen Conolly		F	47.18
95	280	Caitlin Bent	Setanta	FSV	49.20
96	110	Vera Quinlan		F	49.20
97	320	Jean Conolly		F	64.08

Short Courses

1	201	Declan Lee	Blackrock A.C.	M16 23.60
1	191	Jenny Corrie	Fingal	F14 17.51