## Carrauntoohil Race report

by Douglas Barry

On Sunday the 6th June 1999 on Carrauntoohil, in the space of 75 minutes and 51 seconds, former World Champion John Lenihan added yet another chapter to his amazing story. The Irish champion took his twelfth consecutive win in the annual race up and down Ireland's highest and toughest mountain, beating Dublin's Francis Cosgrave for the fifth year in a row.

Lenihan farms about 20 miles from the base of the 3,414 foot mountain, and started his winning sequence back in 1988, managing to fend off all contenders ever since. Laoisman and fellow farmer Martin McDonald was the Kerryman's closest challenger on the climb, leading the pursuing pack which included Cosgrave, Irish international Willie Guiney and Dublin's Brendan O'Brien.

However, the formidable Lenihan had a clear lead at the isolated summit cross which he reached in 46 minutes 33 seconds. Strong climber McDonald chased the champion on the return, but was caught by Cosgrave - the better descender - on the drop off the interim mountain Caher. McDonald then made a route error off An Shron, got lost and dropped himself to sixth.

Lenihan's own renowned descending ability prevailed on the rough ground from the summit. With a descent time of 28 minutes 52 seconds, he stretched his lead over his pursuers to over eight minutes at the finish. Francis Cosgrave held off the attentions of Willie Guiney and Brendan O'Brien to take his fifth consecutive second place in this race.

Martin McDonald's sixth place brought him the first veteran over 40 prize while US visitor Bill McGrogan had a great run to finish first veteran over 50 in the fast time of 110 minutes 13 seconds. No women ran this year. Joe Laffan jnr won the short race up and down Caher for juniors.

## **CARRAUNTOOHIL - Irish Championship Round 1**

Sunday 6th June: Conditions very good; dry, not too windy or too hot, visibility good

Pos	Name	Time
1	John Lenihan	1.15.51
2	Francis Cograve	1.23.58
3	Willie Guiney	1.26.40

4	Brendan O'Brien	1.29.43	
5	John Barrett	1.31.53	
6	Martin McDonald	1.32.10	1 <sup>st</sup> Vet
7	Rob Hartvikson	1.34.05	
8	Jonathan Beverly	1.34.14	
9	Simon Walters	1.34.33	
10	Brian Corbett	1.35.25	
11	Eoin Keith	1.37.14	
12	Kieran Crowley	1.37.59	
13	Vivian O'Gorman	1.43.51	
14	Doug Corrie	1.44.36	
15	Joe Lalor	1.48.52	
16	Bill Grogan	1.50.13	1 <sup>st</sup> Super Vet
17	Cormac MacDonnchadha	1.51.06	
18	Tim Cochrane	1.51.24	
19	Aidan Fitzpatrick	1.52.55	
20	Ercus Stewart	1.53.01	
21	Thomas Galvin	1.53.59	
22	Bernard Collins	1.54.17	
23	Justin Keatinge	1.57.39	
24	Gavin Doherty	1.57.41	
25	Dean Mathias	1.58.09	
26	Colin Burns	1.59.31	
27	William Toomes	2.08.09	
28	Geróid Ó'Cathaláin	2.10.13	
29	Neil Schofield	2.12.36	
30	Conor Kenny	2.14.41	
31	Cormac Corrigan	2.15.16	
32	Batt Kearney	2.16.42	
33	Joe Laffan	2.16.42	
34	Ronan Halpin	2.17.12	
35	Eddie McGovern	2.20.43	

## **CAHER**

1 Joe Laffan Jnr. 1.12.51 1st Junior

2 Alan Dolan 1.30.21

John Stewart 44.15 1st U.14

Entries: Vivian O' Gorman Joe Lalor

Start and Finish: Jennie Corrie, Niamh Lalor

Results: Vivian O'Gorman, Joe Lalor

Water Station Caher: Peader Dempsey