## Glasnamullan Race

Report by Douglas Barry

In the first running of the Glasnamullan race, Deon McNeilly had a close tussle with Paul Nolan and Gerry McGrath before he crossed the line in a surprisingly slow 53 mins 39 secs. "Well, that wasn't 10K !!" and "It's a brilliant route!" were the comments most regularly heard as the exhausted runners finished the 11th race in the 13 race Leinster League.

Nearer 12K was the general consensus on a course that snaked its way through Glasnamullan Wood before climbing up towards Djouce and the Wicklow Way. When it met the Way, it followed it towards White Hill before turning sharply back towards Djouce and its 725 metre summit.

"We're turning at Djouce, aren't we?" "No, you go on and turn at War Hill..." "Eh?"

Yes, they had to go down past the Coffin Stone, across the boggy saddle, and up to the 686 metre summit of War Hill high above the peaty wasteland of Wicklow. Nice views though.

99 runners started and very soon the dominant trio of McNeilly, McGrath and Nolan led a sinuous snake of summer striders through the remnants of the clear felled wood. Crossing a tributary of the infant Vartry river, McNeilly (Newcastle) put in an effort and created a small gap between himself and McGrath (DSD) and Nolan (Crusaders). To the spectators below, the ribbon of brightly bedecked runners made a fascinating sight: the leaders silhouetted on the skyline, with the rest strung out behind against a background of heathery mountain and the setting sun.

On the way back, the order changed when Deon went straight on past the Wicklow Way turn and Gerry called him back. He quickly regained the lead. Paul charged past Gerry on the descent, but the doughty DSD athlete caught him back in a fluctuating race which bought the pair of them right back up to the shoulder of Deon. The final short climb back up from the river and the forest track afterwards settled the issue. Deon taking the win with Gerry second and Paul third. Only 13 seconds separated first and third. Crusader's Una May won the women's race comfortably from Joan Flanagan (Ajax) and Eileen Walsh (Donore).

"And would you do it again?" "Definitely!"

## Glasnamullan 14/07/99

## Dry Windy Race 11 of 13 in Leinster League

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time	
1	355	Deon McNeilly	Newcastle AC		53.39	Rec
2	272	Ger McGrath	DSD		53.45	
3	298	Paul Nolan	Crusaders		53.52	
4	142	Hugh McLindon	3ROC		58.33	
5	19	Colin Eades	Livingston		60.10	
6	22	Eoin O'Connell	Shelbourne hotel		60.47	
7	139	Bob Lawlor	Crusaders		61.02	
8	101	Simon Walters	AIB		62.42	
9	278	Paul Mahon			64.24	
10	105	Declan Doyle			65.10	
11	261	Alan Cox	Crusaders		65.53	
12	20	Rob Hartvikson		M40	66.11	Rec
13	237	Adrian Hayes	Bray Runners		66.13	
14	286	Michael Walters	Ajax		66.26	
15	232	Damien Cashin	Ajax	M40	67.28	
16	276	Cormac MacDonnchadha	Ajax/ESB		68.16	
17	132	Peter Owens	Dal Riada		68.21	
18	231	Úna May	Crusaders	F	68.44	Rec
19	245	Paul Cullen			69.09	
20	216	Aidan Fitzpatrick			69.19	
21	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		70.12	
22	23	lan O'Leary	UCC		70.25	
23	244	Dave Weston	Setanta		70.56	
24	215	Richard Church			71.30	
25	289	Mark Gomm	Portmarnock		71.40	
26	364	Seamus Murphy		M40	72.04	
27	299	Donough O'Keeffe	BVOC		72.09	
28	116	Joan Flanagan	Ajax	F	72.29	
29	161	Vivian O'Gorman		M40	72.60	
30	151	Claude McManmon		M40	73.37	
31	16	Gerry Kinsella			73.48	
32	385	James O'Reilly	Dal Riada		74.24	
33	145	Brendan O'Connor	Ajax		74.33	

34	256	Brendan Lawlor	Office City		75.07	
35	207	Gearóid Ó'Cathaláin	NTMA	M40	75.20	
36	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		75.40	
37	273	Eileen Walsh	Donore Harriers	F	76.04	
38	223	Brian Lambe	TOCAC	M19	76.17	Rec
39	346	Paul Marshall		M40	76.25	
40	192	Brian Byrne		M50	76.42	Rec
41	204	Billy Alexander	AIB		77.02	
42	394	Bruce Shenker		M40	77.07	
43	133	Roisin McDonnell	Crusaders	F	77.13	
44	103	Gordon Douglas		M40	77.20	
45	136	Colin Burns	Ajax		77.32	
46	242	Sean R Murphy	Setanta		77.48	
47	279	Kevin Murray		M40	77.57	
48	203	Marian Hughes	DSD	F40	78.10	Rec
49	15	Barry Cahill			79.05	
50	311	Eddie O'Flynn	Eircell		79.06	
51	186	Ercus Stewart	Glenasmole	M50	79.10	
52	229	John Fitzgerald		M40	80.25	
53	194	Dermot O'Callaghan	AIB		81.22	
54	149	Eva Mulleady	Crusaders	F	81.42	
55	124	Richard Flynn	SET	M50	81.53	
56	25	Gerry Mullins			82.28	
57	147	Eithne Mc Shane		F	82.31	
58	166	Jane Watt	Crusaders	F40	82.33	
59	154	Graham Porter	Crusaders	M40	82.35	
60	141	Peter Gargan	Ajax	M40	82.42	
61	288	Kevin Smith			83.05	
62	123	Joe McDonagh	AIB		83.35	
63	324	Jimmy O'Brien	Ajax	M50	84.23	
64	243	Eddie McGovern	Canada Life		84.35	
65	391	Eddie Harrison	Portmarnock	M40	84.43	
66	156	Nina Philips	Crusaders	F	85.02	
67	165	Cormac Corrigan	Glenasmole		85.07	
68	196	Sean Lambe		M60	85.16	Rec
69	189	Niamh Fitzpatrick	AIB	F	85.37	
70	21	Vint Hogh			87.32	
71	318	Peter Gorman	AIB		88.18	
72	253	Justin Rea			90.15	

73	234	Maurice Mullins	Loughrea	M50	90.16	
74	297	Frank Murphy	Glenasmole	M40	90.19	
75	351	Derek Livingston			91.04	
76	219	Gavan Doherty	GEN		92.03	
77	280	Caitlin Bent	Setanta	F50	92.15	Rec
78	172	Alexis Fitzgerald			92.40	
79	314	Alan Ayling	GEN		93.16	
80	281	Melanie Walsh		F	94.21	
81	230	David Quinn	GEN	M40	94.39	
82	112	Richard Haskins	Bank Of Ireland	M40	96.37	
83	143	James Higgins	AIB		97.29	
84	255	Willie O'Gorman	Portmarnock	M50	97.34	
85	332	Kieran Hennessey			97.49	
86	312	Felicia Long	AIB	F	98.40	
87	178	Beccy Cameron	DSD	F	99.26	
88	108	Fiona Callaghan	AIB	F	108.44	
89	17	Norman Caprani		M50	111.17	
90	18	Meg Fitzgerald		F	111.21	
91	193	Julie Hilliard		F40	118.17	
92	358	Mike Gomm	Portmarnock	M60	128.46	
93	148	Henny Brandsma	Sportsworld	M40	134.45	
	334	Paul Dodd	AIB	M40	DNF	
	198	Eoin Keith			DNF	
	183	Caimin Moloney			DNF	
	24	Viv Crowe		F40	DNF	
		Short Course (Djou	ce)			
1		Mark Donlon	DSD		45.32	Rec
		Shorter Course				
1		Karen Guthrie	Firhouse	F17	10.21	Rec

Entries: Vivian O'Gorman, Pat Donlon

Finish: Douglas Barry, Pat Donlon, Brendan Doherty

Results: Douglas Barry

Marking: Vivian O'Gorman

Helper: Henny Brandsma

Web: Douglas Barry