Kippure Race report

By Douglas Barry

Brendan O'Brien beat Simon Walters and Gerry Lalor to win a mist shrouded Kippure race which suffered a reduced field due to the mist and rain. Brendan was pushed along the road but broke free of the chasing group as the runners left the bog track - featured in the poster for the film "Dancing at Lugnasa". The Ajax runner pulled out a lead, which he never lost, on the climb to the TV transmission mast on the summit.

Eva Mulleady easily won the women's section with Caitlin Bent the winner of the veteran's class. In the men's vets category Leinster League champion Doug Corrie continued his winning form with Brian Byrne the winner of the M50s just pipping Richard Flynn by 8 seconds. A good run by David Simpson saw him take the junior men's race.

Pos	Num	Name	Club	Cat	Time
1	274	Brendan O'Brien	Ajax		43.44
2	101	Simon Walters	AIB		44.49
3	157	Gerry Lalor			45.50
4	228	Fergus Brien			46.07
5	278	Paul Mahon			46.54
6	190	Douglas Corrie	Fingal	M40	47.31
7	121	David Simpson	Rathfarnham	M19	49.32
8	244	Dave Weston	Setanta		50.02
9	106	Philip Brennan	Setanta O.C		50.49
10	61	Mark Beacom	Ericsson	M40	51.60
11	62	Mads Larsen	FDF Hillerod		52.02
12	233	Nigel Creighton			52.08
13	15	Barry Cahill			52.29
14	270	Rory Wallace	Ajax		53.03
15	119	Justin Keatinge	Ajax		53.28
16	323	Mick Mangan	Setanta		53.46
17	120	Brian Bell	Bray Head Ridge Runners	M40	53.52
18	163	Tom Quinn		M40	54.10
19	125	Ciaran	GEN		54.35

Kippure 04/08/99

		Donaghy			
20	262	Paul Keogh			55.22
21	192	Brian Byrne		M50	55.31
22	124	Richard Flynn	SET	M50	55.39
23	103	Gordon Douglas		M40	56.11
24	394	Bruce Shenker		M40	56.42
25	149	Eva Mulleady	Crusaders	F	56.58
26	229	John Fitzgerald		M40	58.16
27	63	Gert Larsen	FDF Hillerod	M50	58.23
28	289	Mark Gomm	Portmarnock		58.33
29	318	Peter Gorman	AIB		59.15
30	288	Kevin Smith			61.44
31	134	Thomas Galvin	Glenasmole		64.12
32	351	Derek Livingston			65.36
33	280	Caitlin Bent	Setanta	F50	66.54
34	108	Fiona Callaghan	AIB	F	68.13
35	293	Murtagh Murphy			72.38
36	358	Mike Gomm	Portmarnock	M60	96.45

Entries: Henny Brandsma, Douglas Barry

Finish: Douglas Barry, Henny Brandsma

Results; Douglas Barry, Justin Keatinge

Web: Douglas Barry